Harmen Sidhu, a senior pitcher for the Sonoma State Seawolves, has been named the 2013 Tino Martinez Award winner. The honor goes to DII college baseball’s most outstanding player.

Sidhu’s 0.98 ERA was tops in the nation and he tied for twelfth in wins as he went 10-1 in a dozen starts. Sidhu only allowed 47 hits in 82.2 innings, which amounted to a paltry .165 batting average against him. He also fanned 93 batters for a ratio of 10.13 per nine innings which placed in twenty-third nationally. He also impressively only allowed five extra base hits and 23 walks for the entire season. Sidhu was also a true student-athlete and compiled one other impressive number, a 3.4 GPA.

After the season Sidhu was named to First Team All-CCAA, First Team All-West Region and earned First Team All-America honors by the American Baseball Coaches Association and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and was a Second Team All-America selections by Daktronics, Inc.

Sidhu won a closely contested award and became the first pither to win the honor, edging fellow hurler Minnesota State’s Harvey Martin and Nebraska-Kearney’s Brian Wuest who finished second and third respectively. Seton Hill’s Nick Sell and Columbus State’s Cameron Scott completed the top five.

Initial nominations for the award were made by baseball sports information contacts and media members. A panel of media, coaches, sports information officers and former players voted to determine the finalists and the winner. A fan Internet vote also contributed to the final vote.

The recipient of the 2012 Tino Martinez Award was senior first baseman Nathan Minnich of ShepherdUniversity (W.Va.). Minnich finished the season batting .487 (74 for 152) with 21 home runs, 12 doubles and 72 RBIs, while racking up a .980 slugging percentage. He led the country in slugging percentage, on-base percentage, walks per game and RBIs.

Chase Larsson of the Cameron Aggies was the recipient of the award last season after leading DII in home runs (29), RBI (84), slugging percentage (1.000) and total bases (190). MountOlive's Carter Capps, the 2011 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association's National Pitcher of the Year, finished in a close second.

Erskine's Bryan Fogle won the first edition of the award in 2010 after batting .430 and leading DII with 28 home runs, 103 RBI (the second most in NCAA history) and 203 total bases. The Flying Fleet star was drafted by Tampa Bay following the season. Runner-up Hayden Simpson of Southern Arkansas was a first round draft choice of the Chicago Cubs.

2013 Tino Award Finalists - Click on a name for more information
Adams, Mike Jr. LHP Tampa
Dillon, Matt Jr. RHP Mount Olive
Fink, Grant Sr. 3B Missouri Western State
Graham, Trevor Jr. RHP Franklin Pierce
Martin, Harvey Sr. RHP Minnesota State
Petty, Kyle Sr. UTL Cal U
Scott, Cameron Sr. 1B Columbus State
Sell, Nick So. 3B Seton Hill
Sidhu, Harmen Sr. RHP Sonoma State
Wuest, Brian Sr. 1B/OF Nebraska Kearney


2014 Tino Martinez Award Timeline
(All Dates Tentative)

Watch List
Feb 19th, 2014

Semifinalists Announced
May 12th, 2014

Finalists Announced
May 26th, 2014

Winner Announced
June 2nd, 2014

BustedTees: Funniest T-Shirts In The World!