Seton Hill University senior Nick Sell, who set Griffins' program record for batting average, home runs and RBI’s this season, has been named the recipient of the 2015 Tino Martinez Award, honoring DII baseball's most outstanding player.

This season, Sell led the Griffins and the PSAC runs scored (65), hits (83) and runs batted in (92).  Nick also led the Griffins with a .444 batting average and 28 home runs, a new Seton Hill single season record.  He has also added 18 doubles, 4 triples and 10 stolen bases.  Nick has also set new Seton Hill career records in home runs, hits, doubles and RBI.

Sell led Division II in RBI and was second in slugging percentage (1.032) and home runs. He was also second in total bases with 193.   

Griffin head coach Marc Marizzaldi stated, “What an incredible honor for Nick, one that he is absolutely deserving of.  He put together one of the best seasons ever in college baseball and it is great that he is recognized for his accomplishments, not just this season, but for his entire four year career.  It's also a fantastic achievement for our team.  Nick fueled our offense all season long and he fed off the success of the guys around him.” 

After the season, Sell was named a first team All American by three organizations. Sell was named a first team ABCA/Rawlings, Daktronics and NCBWA All American. Nick was also named the ABCA/Rawlings, Daktronics and NCBWA Atlantic Region Player of the Year in addition to being named to all three regional teams. He was named the PSAC West Athlete of the Year as well as a first team All PSAC West selection.

There were eight finalists for the award and the final vote was extremely close.Sell and runner up, Will Albertson of Catawba, were named either first or second on almost each of the votes which were cast by a nationwide group of DII baseball media members, coaches and sports information directors.

Collins Cuthrell of UNC Pembroke and Nova Southeastern's Justin Garcia tied for third place. Other finalists included Brendan Collins of Columbus State, Jason Morozowski of Mt Olive, Hunter Newman of Trevecca Nazarene and Ryan Uhl from Indiana (PA).

Previous Tino Martinez Award Winners
2015 – Nick Sell, Seton Hill Griffins
2014 - Austin Kaiser, Colorado Mesa Mavs
2013 – Harmen Sidhu, Sonoma State Seawolves
2012 - Nathan Minnich, Shepherd Rams
2011 - Chase Larsson, Cameron Aggies
2010 - Bryan Fogle, Erskine Flying Fleet