WATCH LIST for 2014 Tino Martinez Award Announced

Over one hundred twenty-five exceptional student-athletes comprise the watch list for the 2014 Jaeger Sports Tino Martinez Award for the most outstanding player in DII college baseball. The annual honor is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, Olympian and MLB All-Star, Tino Martinez.

Nominations for the award were made by baseball sports information contacts and media members. Omission from the initial list does not exclude additional players from future consideration.

The list will be updated with a mid-season release mid April. Semi-finalists are scheduled to be announced on May 12th with the finalists to be named on May 26th.

After the finalists are named fans will be once again be invited to vote online at to help determine the winner. The winner will be announced after the conclusion of the DII Baseball Championship held in Cary, NC from May 24th to May 31st.

Last year, Harmen Sidhu, a senior pitcher for the Sonoma State Seawolves, won the award. Sidhu's 0.98 ERA was tops in the nation and he tied for twelfth in wins as he went 10-1 in a dozen starts. Sidhu only allowed 47 hits in 82.2 innings, which amounted to a paltry .165 batting average against him. He also fanned 93 batters for a ratio of 10.13 per nine innings which placed in twenty-third nationally.

The 2014 award is sponsored by Jaeger Sports, a Southern California-based organization founded on the principle that training should address more than just an athlete's physical skills and preparation. For more information on Jaeger Sports visit:

About Tino Martinez
The Tino Martinez Award is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, United States Olympian, first round draft pick and MLB All-Star, Tino Martinez. Martinez was a three-time All-American and still holds a number of UT records including career home runs (54), career slugging percentage (.736), career on base percentage (.494), single season batting average (.452) and single season slugging percentage (.957). While he wore a Spartan uniform Tampa advanced to their first NCAA Division II National Championships (1986 and '87) and won their first of twelve SSC Championships ('87). Martinez was elected to the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2013. Current LSU head coach Paul Mainieri has been quoted as stating Martinez was, "the best player I've ever coached against".

Previous Tino Martinez Award Winners

2013 – Harmen Sidhu, Sonoma State Seawolves
2012 – Nathan Minnich, Shepherd Rams
2011 – Chase Larsson, Cameron Aggies
2010- Bryan Fogle, Erskine Flying Fleet

2014 Tino Martinez Award Watch List:

Alfonzo, Giovanni Jr. SS Tampa
Allen, Austin So. C Florida Tech
Ashford, Wilson Jr. LHP Fresno Pacific
Asmus, George Sr. RHP Sonoma State
Baker, Nick Sr. RHP Chico State
Baldwin, Jake Jr. RHP Ashland
Barber, Jacob Jr. C Winston Salem State
Barkell, Ty Jr. 1B USC Aiken
Barlow, Kaleb Sr. IF West Florida
Becker, Seasn Sr. RHP Cal State East Bay
Bick, Daniel Sr. SS Georgia College
Bosse, Matt Jr. OF USC Aiken
Boston, Dylan Jr. 3B North Alabama
Brock, Chandler Jr. OF Alabama Huntsville
Brown, Dawson Jr. RHP West Florida
Brugnoni, Giancarlo Sr. 1B GVSU
Buchanan, Timothy So. LHP Southern Arkansas
Camp, Joe So. INF Concord
Carpenter, Garrett Sr. UTL Colorado Mesa
Carr, Janson Jr. RHP Southern Arkansas
Chovanec, Jordan Sr. OF Delta State
Coker, Josh Sr. UTL Lincoln Memorial
Constantino, Brendan Sr. INF Seton Hill
Costen, TJ Jr. IF USC Aiken
D'Ariano, Matt Fr. RHP Florida Southern
Davis, Ryan Jr. LHP Le Moyne
Davis, Trae Sr. UTL Angelo State
Dennis, Chris Jr. 3B Florida Southern
Denton, Zade Jr. INF UNC Pembroke
Ding, Tyler Sr. UTL Tampa
Doyle, Cody Sr. C Cal State LA
Easterling, Brannon Sr. RHP St. Edward's
Edgerton, Jordan Jr. 3B UNC Pembroke
English, Adrian Sr. 2B Barry
Feckley, Jake Sr. RHP Angelo State
Fennell, Mick So. UTL Cal (PA)
Fink, Alex So. INF Augustana
Fischer, Garrett Sr. 1B St. Cloud State
Fischer, Kyle Sr. RHP St. Cloud State
Flynn, Joseph Sr. RHP Franklin Pierce
Frank, Robert Sr. RHP St. Thomas Aquinas
Frye, Dillon Jr. RHP Nova Southeastern
Gambone, Ray Jr. LHP Wilmington
Gaspar, Kaohu Sr. OF Fresno Pacific
Gonzalez, Jay Jr. OF Mount Olive
Gonzalez, Rafael Sr. INF Winston Salem State
Grady, Pat Sr. OF Lander
Grassley, Levi Sr. INF Winston Salem State
Gratza, Kevin Sr. OF Central Missouri
Gregory, Reese So. RHP St. Cloud State
Haag, Aaron Sr. IF West Florida
Haines, Alex Sr. LHP Seton Hill
Hampton, Josh Sr. 3B Wilmington
Hayman, Bryant Jr. C Valdosta State
Helwich, Tom Sr. LHP Lewis
Hoppe, Jason Sr. RHP Minnesota State
Hurley, Mark Sr. OF CSUMB
Innes, Dale Sr. RHP Mars Hill
James, Dylan Sr. RHP West Texas A&M
Jimenez, Geoff Sr. OF Nova Southeastern
Johnson, Horace Sr. DH Ft. Hayes State
Johnson, Nolan Jr. C Minnesota State
Johnston, Ryan Jr. OF Concord
Kengor, Will Sr. SS Slippery Rock
Kline, Kevin Jr. 3B Dixie State
Knott, Chris Sr. OF East Stroudsburg
Kondla, Fico Sr. 1B Coker
Kregeloh, Pat Sr. UTL Shippensburg
LaLonde, Ransom Sr. SS St. Edward's
Landsheft, Will Sr. RHP Drury
Leach, Ryan Sr. RHP Franklin Pierce
Little, Olen Sr. RHP Wingate
Manley, Michael Sr. RHP Delta State
McCallum, Connor Jr. INF Minnesota State
McClain, Matt Jr. LHP St. Mary's
McCurdy, Jackson Sr. OF Southern Arkansas
Medley, Cade Sr. RHP North Alabama
Messina, Ryan Sr. OF Shepherd
Miller, Danny Jr. OF Chico State
Miller, Joey Sr. 1B Concord
Mitchell, Kevin Jr. 1B Colorado Mesa
Moore, Blair Sr. 3B Cal Baptist
Murphy, Chris Jr. RHP Millersville
Murray, Jake Sr. OF Lewis
Newman, Hunter So. 3B Trevecca Nazarene
Obrochta, Connor Sr. OF Tampa
Owen, Jeff Jr. RHP CSUMB
Peters, Matt Jr. INF Cal (PA)
Peterson, Jordan Jr. RHP St. Joseph's
Ponder, Dallas Sr. RHP Texas A&M Kingsville
Potts, Jamie Jr. OF GVSU
Reed, Payton So. 1B Drury
Regan, Alex Jr. LHP Mount Olive
Reitano, Bradon Sr. OF Mount Olive
Robertson, Nate Jr. SS Colorado Mesa
Robinson, Cody Sr. OF Northeastern State
Rodriguez, Vinny Jr. DH Montevallo
Salles, JD Sr. RHP Fresno Pacific
Sandifer, Tony Jr. INF Central Missouri
Sell, Nick Jr. 3B Seton Hill
Shepard, John-Austin Sr. RHP Tusculum
Slader, Cody Jr. SS Chico State
Slaid, Jackson Sr. C Montevallo
Smith, Bryan So. RHP Trevecca Nazarene
Solis, Rene Sr. LHP St. Mary's
Stancil, Cole So. OF St. Leo
Staton, Allen Jr. UTL North Greenville
Stephney, Ellis Sr. OF Cal State East Bay
Stone, Zach Sr. 1B Millersville
Summers, Christian Sr. INF Angelo State
Swetman, Dylan So. INF Le Moyne
Swoope, Alvin Fr. INF Nova Southeastern
Sylvester, Derrick Sr. RHP Southern New Hamphire
Taska, Taylor Sr. UTL Texas A&M Kingsville
Thimesch, Nick Sr. OF Drury
Tindall, Nick Jr. C Tampa
Treml, Jamie Jr. LHP Wilmington
Twitty, Bobby Jr. OF St. Leo
Vavra, Trey Sr. 1B Florida Southern
Walls, Derrick Sr. SS Texas A&M Kingsville
Ward, Davis Sr. RHP Ouachita Baptist
Warner, Jake Sr. 2B Pitt-Johnstown
Weinzapfel, Jake Sr. SS U Indy
Whitten, Fran Sr. UTL St. Leo
Willey, Doug Jr. RHP Franklin Pierce
Willoughby, Zack Jr. OF Montevallo
Wilson, Brad Sr. OF Central Missouri
Winter, Kye Sr. UTL Augustana
Wolchik, Dylan Sr. LHP Lander
Zak, Kevin Jr. INF GVSU