Finalists for 2014 Tino Martinez Award Announced

The candidates for the 2014 Jaeger Sports Tino Martinez Award presented by and College Baseball Lineup for the DII baseball player for the year have been narrowed down to eight deserving athletes.

The eight finalists are:
• Giancarlo Brugnoni, Grand Valley State Lakers
• Stephen Dezzi, Tampa Spartans
• Patrick Grady, Lander Bearcats
• Austin Kaiser, Colorado Mesa Mavericks
• Joey Miller, Concord Mountain Lions
• Bradon Reitano, Mount Olive Trojans
• Tony Viger, Augustana Vikings
• Phillip Wilson, Central Oklahoma Bronchos

The award is presented to the most outstanding player in DII college baseball. The annual honor is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, United States Olympian, first round draft pick and MLB All-Star, Tino Martinez.

Initial nominations for the award were made by baseball sports information contacts and media members. A national panel of media, coaches and sports information officers was polled to finalize the candidates. The group will once again vote on the finalists, and an Internet vote is planned to contribute to the crowning of the winner. The winner will be named the Monday following the DII baseball championships held this year in Cary, NC from May 24th to May 31st.