Austin Kaiser, a senior outfielder for the Colorado Mesa Mavericks, has been named the winner of the 2014 Tino Martinez Award. The honors go to DII college baseball’s most outstanding player.

Kaiser led the NCAA in batting with a .478 average and, when combined with his 24 doubles, five triples and 11 homeruns, he also compiled an amazing .767 slugging percentage which placed him fourth in the nation. His incredible numbers also included 30 stolen bases in 34 attempts which positioned him 21st in the nation and he also only struck out 18 times in 232 at bats. Kaiser’s 178 total bases also topped the nation.

Kaiser was also named a first team All-American by Daktronics and the NCBWA and was awarded the South Central Region Player of the Year honor from the ABCA and the NCBWA. With a 3.81 GPA in sports management, Kaiser was also a member of the 2014 Capital One Academic All-American DII Baseball Team.

Kaiser’s incredible on the field performance was a huge reason the Mavericks reached the NCAA National Finals and nearly came away from Cary with the national title trophy. After easily winning the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Player of the Year honor to help the school earn regional hosting honors, Kaiser also was on the All-Tournament Team of the regional championship which sent CMU to North Carolina.

The runner ups for the Tino Martinez Award were Giancarlo Brugnoni  of Grand Valley State who finished second, and Patrick Grady of Lander and Phillip Wilson of Central Oklahoma who tied for third.

About Tino Martinez
The Tino Martinez Award is named after the former University of Tampa Spartan, United States Olympian, first round draft pick and MLB All-Star, Tino Martinez. Martinez was a three-time All-American and still holds a number of UT records including career home runs (54), career slugging percentage (.736), career on base percentage (.494), single season batting average (.452) and single season slugging percentage (.957). While he wore a Spartan uniform Tampa advanced to their first NCAA Division II National Championships (1986 and '87) and won their first of twelve SSC Championships ('87). Martinez was elected to the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2013.

Previous Tino Martinez Award Winners
2013 – Harmen Sidhu, Sonoma St Seawolves
2012 - Nathan Minnich, Shepherd Rams
2011 - Chase Larsson, Cameron Aggies
2010- Bryan Fogle, Erskine Flying Fleet



BustedTees: Funniest T-Shirts In The World!